Making a Death Eater costume

Cloak and mask

The hooded cloak was made out of a 2m x x1,5m piece of black cloth. I sewed a “narrowing” part around the neck, and then added the hood after cutting that out and sewing it together. I used a combination of textile glue, needle/thread and black gaffa tape. I used a couple of guides like this as inspiration, as well as instructions from the hobby shop where i bought the cloth. To close the cloak in the front i used a safety pin with a metal skull hot glued onto it.

The mask was a premade mask i got from the hobby shop. I painted it by hand with silver and black acrylic paint, as well as cut a few holes to breath through.

The starting point for the cloak and mask

Bilde

The finished cloak and mask

Bilde

Skull safety pin

Bilde

Close-up of the mask

 


 

The wands

I decided to make a glowing wand to accompany my costume, and ended up with two wands with different colors.

The red wand

I made the first wand from a branch i found on my way home. I attached a red LED (Light Emitting Diode) and a resistor together with a button/battery circuit.

Bilde

The first wand attempt

I proceeded to paint it black and make some details with hot glue, which in turn was painted with silver paint. I also added 5 LED’s and some hot glue to the tip to make a more smooth glow. The hot glue was shaped with an X-acto knife and sand paper.

Bilde

The finished red wand

The green wand

With the second wand, i started the process in the electronics. I made a core of 2 AAA batteries, a button, a pencil and 6 LED’s clumped together on a small circuit board.

Bilde

The core of the greend wand

The outside shell of the wand was made out of paper and hot glue, inspired by this guide. I painted it black with silver details like the other wand. For extra cool, i added a skull on top of the light button.

Bilde

The finished green wand

 

Bilde

The handle

 

Bilde

The green glow

 

Bilde

Both wand togheter

 

Bilde

The tools used

One thought on “Making a Death Eater costume

Leave a Reply

